THE TREASURE IN THE FRIDGE

It’s past 8 pm. I have not yet had supper. I am starving and cold. I have two options: (re)heat the same rice and beef meat stew which I have been having for every.single.meal since Sunday, except breakfasts. Or boil a packet of instant noodles and crack an egg in it.

It’s a no-brainer. I’ll still be having the stew for tomorrow lunch and possibly supper as well. So I tear open the package of dry instant noodles, and push a pan of water on the stovetop in one smooth, spontaneous movement.

I think about the things I could add to my noodles-and-egg dish to make it a bit more interesting. I eye the contents of my fridge dubiously. Mayonnaise? No. Cheese? Yes. Kale? No. The contents of a molding can of  peaches left over from the princess’s birthday party? Definitely not.

But what is this, so brown and glossy, yet so shy and humble, hiding behind the bags of salad,  peeking out? Aha! A small saucer, packed with fried onions, spiced with garlic, turmeric and a hint of cinnamon, the colour of caramel, the flavour of heaven.  Now I remember. I had prepared  fried onions on Sunday for the now-despised meat stew, and I had saved this batch for later use. Which is now.  The addition of a fistful of caramelized, spiced onion turns my humble egg-and-noodles into a dish of the gods.

Moral: Gentle Reader, always fry more onions than needed for your dish, and keep some behind. Use it to add  love to anything: soups, sandwiches, stir-fries, stews. You simply cannot go wrong.

3 comments

  1. FoXy

    One of my moms friends used to say : If you add fried onions even to shit, the shit would taste good.

  2. FoXy

    It,s not crapş ıts true wisdom :)))
    Nasrine amu gofte bud meske na nasrine dooste KN ke

Leave a Reply

