SORRY SLASH

I AM NOT A MUSICIAN. AND I DON”T KNOW ANYTHING ABOUT GUITARS AND GUITAR-PLAYERS. OK?? THAT DOESN’T STOP ME FROM HAVING OPINIONS ON THE MUSIC! THIS IS JUST A BLOG!!!!

Now that we have got that out of the way, (sadly enough, some things can never be repeated too many times) I can lay out my own opinion on Slash’s new album called, called…, oh dear, I forgot what it was called. Slash? Cut? Lots Of Different People Singing?

Anyway, the point is, you need the face, and you need the unifying force. A good, ok, brilliant, ok, the world’s best guitarist is just that, a guitarist. But a frontman, an entertainer, a perfomer,  is something else again. Without that person to bring together the whole album, all you have is a jumble which gives you a headache and distracts you from trying to work.

It’s unfair, but that’s is the way these things work. We don’t really remember or care about the craftsmen, the pianists, the directors, the stage-boys, the guitarists, the people who sweep the stage etc. We remember the faces we see and the voices we hear, we respond with our guts to the force in the flash of eyes and the furious wails. Slash is probably damn good guitarist to become so recognizable -just as a guitarist, I mean. I bet he plays the guitar as well as they say he does- probably much better than the pretty pretty boy Axl had up on the stage with him, that night in Halifax. But you know what? I can’t tell the difference. And neither can you.

So I respond to Chinese Democracy in a way I can never respond to Slash’s, err, Slash-album. I respond to the charisma and the recognizable, unique force.  The Slash-album has lots of guitary sounds and drops a lot of names. But you know, it doesn’t drop the right name. And it’s not an album. It’s just an extract from a radio channel, playing lots of different songs.

6 comments

  1. teng

    the different voices is definitely a drawback. I have the same feeling: its a collection rather than an album

  2. Dragon

    So wat , its good to here his tone n licks again, n the album is better than most offerings today , Stands nowhere next to Chinese Democracy in terms of epic ness but still great.

  3. teng

    I did give ChineseD another try. Seriously, its unbearable at some parts. I think I ripped the headphone cables trying to pull out the plugs. Few good songs, yeah, but you definitely cant listen to the whole album at one shot. Anyway, I’m downloading “GooGoosh-40 golden hits” for this evening. Rumor has it that Amoo is a big fan of GooGoosh.
    😀

  4. thenewcomer

    Actually, I listen to Chinese democracy AT LEAST three times EVERY DAY- twice in the mornings, once in the afternoon, back-to-back.

  5. FoXy

    U should become his publicist, seriously.

  6. Pingback: Slash feat. Ozzy Osbourne: Crucify the Dead | Today I Listened to…

Leave a Reply

